RO2 RS1 server has frequent lag spikes

Informationen zu den Spielen Red Orchestra / Rising Storm und Rising Storm Vietnam, sowie unseren damit verbundenen Servern
---
All about the games Red Orchestra / Rising Storm and Rising Storm Vietnam, as well our related game servers
Post Reply
DAE avatar
IceMobster
Private
Private
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019
Has thanked: 1 time
Estonia

07 Oct 2019, 15:14

Every 10 minutes or so, the ping for all users jumps to 980 (probably even higher since 980 is the max the game can show you). Currently, =]RC[= RS1 is the most active RS1 server there is an has the perfect amount of bots meaning players join more often. The only problem is the constant lag spikes which last for a few seconds, ruin the gameplay and make players leave.

Is it possible to fix that?


User avatar
[RC]Hunter
Site Admin
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 2253
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008
Location: Hue City
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Germany
=]RC[= Hunter’s avatar
Loading…

08 Oct 2019, 11:43

Thanks for your report.
I looked into the setup and did some tweaks.

Let us know if it may improve the situation.


=]RC[= Hunter
skill is not an unlock ... see ya on the battlefields

Image * Image * Image * Image
DAE avatar
IceMobster
Private
Private
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019
Has thanked: 1 time
Estonia

12 Oct 2019, 19:52

[RC]Hunter wrote:
08 Oct 2019, 11:43
Thanks for your report.
I looked into the setup and did some tweaks.

Let us know if it may improve the situation.
The situation remains the same. Got some other ideas for a fix? I got session banned 3 times so far due to "speedhacking". The game thinks I am speedhacking since I move and the ping is 999 :biggrin:


DAE avatar
IceMobster
Private
Private
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019
Has thanked: 1 time
Estonia

12 Oct 2019, 20:50

Interestingly, there is another RS1 server from bfewav.com and both yours and theirs server "overloads" to 999 ping at the same time. I haven't ever seen this happen on some Battle of Stalingrad server. Very weird!


DAE avatar
IceMobster
Private
Private
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019
Has thanked: 1 time
Estonia

13 Oct 2019, 10:34

Sorry for spam, but unfortunately I can not edit my post(s).

This is the proof: https://i.imgur.com/dGRzWHX.png


User avatar
[RC]Hunter
Site Admin
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 2253
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008
Location: Hue City
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Germany
=]RC[= Hunter’s avatar
Loading…

14 Oct 2019, 14:14

Yes, it actually seems to confirm what I was thinking about it all the time.
The issue is related to Tripwire´s backend (where the server reports stats and other datas to) and is not nessecarily related to the server instance itself or it might be an issue with the aging punkbuster support.

As well there is no real repeatable behavior to see which would allow to identify when exactly it will happen.
I do personally suspect a coding issue within RS1, which starts this behavior if the Tripwire backend becomes unavailable or very slow in responding. Instead to continue the local process (the server players are playing on) independently, it "hangs in" trying to communicate towards the master server(s) or it might be related to the punkbuster engine not being able to speak with its master servers ...

But I am not in the possition to confirm the above, since we have no insights here from tripwire itself. The laggy feeling is known for many RS1 clients as well and were related to operating system issues. In example if you set your rogame.exe to the task priority "BelowNormal" it will run much smoother and stable than if you leave it on "Normal" ... ;) ... so there are a lot of discussion about it since many years and there has never any reply to it from the developers as far as I am aware of and since its an older game, there will most likely never be a fix to it.

I did one more tweak just now, perhaps it will change the picture. If not the next would be to disable the punkbuster engine, most RO2 servers today run without, so perhaps a reason why they are no affected like this. But before disabling PB I would like to check the current settings and see if it fixes anything.

Let us know if you find time again to check it out.


=]RC[= Hunter
skill is not an unlock ... see ya on the battlefields

Image * Image * Image * Image
Post Reply